Darcy Pattison, Children’s book author and indie publisher

Darcy Pattison

Children's Book Author

Children’s book author and indie publisher DARCY PATTISON has written over seventy award-winning fiction and non-fiction books for children. Five books have received starred PW, Kirkus, or BCCB reviews.

Awards include the Irma Black Honor award, five NSTA Outstanding Science Trade Books, four Eureka! Nonfiction Honor book (CA Reading Assn.), two Junior Library Guild selections, two NCTE Notable Children’s Book in Language Arts, a Notable Social Studies Trade Book, a Best STEM Book, an Arkansiana Award, and the Susannah DeBlack Arkansas Children’s History Book award. She’s the 2007 recipient of the Arkansas Governor’s Arts Award for Individual Artist for her work in children’s literature.

Her books have been translated into ten languages.

Dow Phumiruk, Award-winning author and illustrator

Dow Phumiruk

Award-winning author and illustrator

Dow Phumiruk is an award-winning author and/or illustrator of fifteen children’s books, with five more on the way. She is one of the illustrators of YES WE WILL by New York Times bestselling author Kelly Yang. She has illustrated A LIFE OF SERVICE, by two-time Newbery Honor winner Christina Soontornvat, and ONE GIRL, by NYT bestselling author Andrea Beaty. She is currently working on illustrations for a book by renowned author Jane Yolen. HUGSBY and MELA AND THE ELEPHANT, both written by Dow, are Colorado Book Award finalists. Dow is a retired pediatrician who teaches medical students part time. In her free time, she enjoys light hikes and sewing. She is represented by East West Literary Agency.

Miranda Paul

Miranda Paul

Author, Agent at Erin Murphy Literary Agency

Miranda Paul is an award-winning author of over 20 books for children. She has received starred reviews and Junior Library Guild distinction for several titles, including One Plastic Bag; I Am Farmer; Little Libraries, Big Heroes; and Water is Water and Nine Months, illustrated by Caldecott medalist Jason Chin. Her edited poetry collection, Thanku: Poems of Gratitude, was a 2020 ALA Notable title for all ages, and Julien Chung’s illustrations for her most recent release, 365: How To Count A Year, were shortlisted for the international Nami Concours. Miranda is an agent at the Erin Murphy Literary Agency representing nearly all categories and genres of books, and is a frequent presenter at schools around the world. She is a co-founding member of We Need Diverse Books.

Arthur Levine

Arthur Levine

President and Editor-in-Chief, Levine Querido

Arthur Levine is the President and Editor-in-Chief of Levine Querido, a vibrant new independent publisher distributed by Chronicle Books. Levine Querido is born of a fervent mission to give voice to a uniquely talented, exceptionally diverse group of authors and artists, a career-long passion of its founder. Launched in August 2020, LQ has been proud to publish award-winning books by Daniel Nayeri (Printz Medal), Darcie Little Badger (Newbery Honor, AIYLA Honor, Nebula Award), Donna Barba Higuera (Newbery Medal, Pura Belpré Medal), Eric Gansworth (Printz Honor, AIYLA Medal, National Book Award Long list), Sigal Samuel/Vali Mintzi (AJL honor book) Sacha Lamb (Sidney Taylor Medal, Stonewall Award Winner, Printz Honor) and many others.

Andrea Wang

Andrea Wang


Andrea Wang is an acclaimed author of children’s books. Her book Watercress was awarded the Caldecott Medal, a Newbery Honor, the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, and a Boston Globe-Horn Book Honor, among other accolades. Her other books, The Many Meanings of Meilan, Luli and the Language of Tea, Magic Ramen, and The Nian Monster, have also received awards and starred reviews. Her work explores culture, creative thinking, and identity. She lives in Colorado with her family.